Penny Harter's Publications.
Penny Harter Head

Penny Harter

Poet, Author, Workshop Leader, Editor, Teacher

Penny Harter's Main Menu
This is: Publications
H & H Events
Press Kit
Read My Work Online
From Here Press
Clicking on one of the links above takes you to the relevant page. Or go to PenHart Home.



Here is information about my recent books and links to sample texts from them and other publications. Clicking on a cover image will take you to a page where you can purchase that book. If you have questions, you are welcome to contact me. Thanks for stopping by! Penny Harter

The Night Marsh
WordTech Editions, Cincinnati, Ohio, 2008.
See sample poems and a review here and on the publisher's web site. More poems from The Night Marsh may be found on other sites: three in the Fall 2007 issue of Umbrella, two in the June 2008 issue of Contemporary American Voices, one in the Fall/Winter 2007–2008 issue of Valparaiso Poetry Review. (Each opens in new window or tab. Links to more of my poems online are at Read My Work Online, as well as linked from the various book descriptions below.)

"The Night Marsh is a beautiful collection, rich and deep, by a poet able to communicate truths that almost go beyond words. Several of the poems convey astonishing spiritual experiences (see 'Voices,' 'Diffusion,' 'Translating the Sky on the Morning of My Birthday,' 'One Moonless Night,' and more). In other poems, Penny Harter intimately confronts the natural world; and often, high moments of her life, and our lives, between death and childhood, are memorably held fast."
X. J. Kennedy

Along River Road
From Here Press, Summit, New Jersey, 2005.
Poems (click this link for samples).

"What wonderful, moving poems in Along River Road. So many memories, some so painful, as in the astounding 'Flies on the Corn,' many so beautiful, . . . and 'Burying Mother's Ashes,' with the delightful snapshot of your charming three-year-old granddaughter. A memorable book!" — Dorothy McLaughlin

"In her collection Along River Road, Penny Harter offers a 'translation of remembered rooms' combining memories that rage and smoulder like 'those underground fires / they can't put out for years' with childhood innocence—'where now is our mingled breath / that steamed the windowpanes?' Harter gives back to what is lost, reminds us all of the things that 'wash up, / slip under and emerge to shine again.'" — Terry Ann Carter

Eleven of the poems in Buried in the Sky are part of a selection of Penny's work that appears in American Nature Writing 2002. Her contribution to this anthology received the first William O. Douglas Nature Writing Award.

Buried in the Sky
La Alameda Press, Albuquerque, New Mexico, 2001.
Poems (click this link for samples).

"Penny Harter's Buried in the Sky combines the breathtaking images and language of a gifted poet with the precise eye and cosmic consciousness of a scientist." — Chet Raymo

"Of light, flesh and the sheen of daily life, these poems speak with eloquence, and exquisite measured grace—then a wind from another world sweeps through these crafted moments and we plummet into strong and strange blue depths where the natural world crosses and recrosses into the sacred." — Judyth Hill

"Harter thoughtfully explores the importance of place to the human spirit and to the creative artist. The geography of the imagination, the confluence of choice, the vagaries of wild and human nature—all are given consideration in her poems. In the poem "Pelvis With Moon, 1943," inspired by the well-known oil painting by Georgia O'Keeffe, Harter writes of a bone in the desert that had 'fallen from some female' and that had once 'cradled her young.' In her poem, as in the painting, the bone becomes a powerful symbol, inspiring an epiphany that evokes both the myth of Mother Earth and the interdependence of all life." — John Murray

Lizard Light: Poems from the Earth
Sherman Asher Publishing, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 1998.
Click this link for sample poems.

"In poems like 'The Milky Way' and 'Lizard Light' Penny Harter has clearly established herself as one of America's finest living poets. Her work is full of vigor, optimism, and amazing beauty." — John Murray

"'We are always trying to enter the earth,' begins the poem called 'Ruins,' and in Lizard Light Penny Harter beams back to those of us sadly on the periphery a series of heartfelt communiqués about what we're missing, and cannot afford to miss much longer, as we spiral tremulously from one millennium into the next." — Thomas Centolella

Turtle Blessing was an Editors' Choice book in the January/February 1998 issue of The Bloomsbury Review. The citation reads, in part, "Penny Harter is the real thing—a gifted poet in the tradition of Gary Snyder, Wendell Berry, Robert Penn Warren, Theodore Roethke . . . this book is extraordinary."

Turtle Blessing
La Alameda Press, Albuquerque, New Mexico, 1996.
Poems (click this link for samples).

"With minute insight into life's precious web, Penny Harter reinstates our 'mother tongue' & walks us into a garden—not mythological, but real—where stones sing, worms hear, whales call, fog 'leaves scales on our limbs' & sun fills our bones with a melody at once ancient, at once new." — John Brandi

"Turtle Blessing depicts relationships between humans, animals and nature in their most honest form. The results are delightful and disturbing; they are simultaneously commonplace and tremendous." — Willow Older, writing in Pasatiempo, The Santa Fe New Mexican

Penny Harter sings us back to the center of things, to the heart, where everything speaks. Through her poems we try to regain 'the old way of moving on earth', where we find our way back into the conversation, back into the real community life. Here we find the blessings of turtle, deer, skunk, rock and water. We are blessed with the language of light, 'we are learning the planet by ear', and our hearts have been changed." — Gary Lawless

Grandmother's Milk
Singular Speech Press, Canton, Connecticut, 1995.
Poems (click on this link for samples).

"Remembrance is at the heart of Penny Harter's newest collection. The milk of human sensitivity for others flows through these poems." — Geraldine C. Little

"There is something to love or tremble for in every line that I read. I look forward to reading it again and again." — Naomi Shihab Nye

Shadow Play: Night Haiku
Illustrated by Jeffrey Greene
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, New York City, 1994.
Click on this link to see sample pages.

"Harter evokes nighttime in a series of haiku poems that capture its sound, shadows, and muted colors. . . . The night is alive with movement, and with light, in this stunning book." — Kirkus Reviews

"A thread of gentle humor runs through this thoughtful, successful evocation of night's pleasures." — John Peters, in School Library Journal

Stages and Views
Katydid Books, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 1994.
Poems (click on this link for samples).

"These disciplined and fragrant verses evoke the everlasting beauty of the masters Hiroshige and Hokusai. Penny Harter has embraced the spirit of Japanese poetry with skill and enthusiasm, and married it to her own American sensibility." — Carolyn Kizer

"It's a wonderfully unified book—from the carefully crafted progression of 'Stages' to the stretching and disjunctive music of 'Views.' It makes me think of that Muriel Rukeyser poem about swimmers, about how, below surface, 'it all touches.'" — Arthur Sze



This page first posted 21 September 2003 and last updated 16 July 2008. Copyright © 2003–2007 Penny Harter. All rights reserved. No material from this web site may be copied on other web sites, produced in printed copies, or otherwise reproduced except as explicitly stated on a particular page, or by permission of the authors in writing. Please do not e-mail copies of this web page; rather, send the URL:
Penny Harter's Main Menu
Top of Publications
H & H Events
Press Kit
Read My Work Online
From Here Press
Clicking on one of the links above takes you to the relevant page. Or go to PenHart Home.
Contact Penny Harter at penhart-AT-2hweb-DOT-net.

   Penny Harter's Publications.